Posted in Twin life

Twins

I just recently gave birth to two beautiful non-identical twins, Tyler and Noah, I gave birth at 37 weeks on November 23rd. May I say that this pregnancy was hell, my daughter is 5 and that pregnancy was great, I walked in heels, gained 25 pounds, stayed active daily. My twins had Something else in store for me, at the beginning all I waned to do was sleep, all day!

Should I say that this pregnancy was not planned to start off with, I had just finished taking blood thinners because I had been diagnosed on December 21st with pulmonary embolism. My pulmonary embolisms were due to birth control pills, see the irony of getting pregnant.   when I found out I was pregnant I knew this pregnancy contained risk due to my medical condition, wich meant I had to inject myself every day in the tummy until the end of my pregnancy. when we went to the first ultrasound to see baby for the first time may I say I was happy I was lying down. I remember the lady saying you know theirs two right, my facial expression was priceless apparently because she laughed, I almost fainted.

I gained 34 pounds with them, I weighed 130, at the end of my pregnancy I was at 164 pounds, wich is pretty good for twins. The boring part was if I walked for 10 minutes I would be in pain; I couldn’t stand to long either I would get dizzy or my legs would get really tired. Sleeping in the end was hell, I have a foam mattress my favorite thing in the world, I guess I knew how to princess and the pea felt like only exception I was the pea, a huge pea!

I also got to meet my friend sciatica, for those who know how that feels am sure you can relate, sciatic nerve pain is very common in pregnant women. The pain is sudden and you have problems putting one foot in front of the other and laying down doesn’t always help, for me it was worst. A hot bath helped most of the time but not always, glad that’s over. so at 37 weeks I was having contractions at about 7 pm and went to the hospital at 1 am, I was so stressed I couldn’t stop crying. the thing with twins you never know how things will turn out, meaning that some twins are born at 37 weeks and are fine and others have breathing problems due to immaturity in the lungs because they are not finished developing. every mom wants a healthy baby, I had two to worry about! second thing with twins you give birth in the operating room in case of an emergency   C-section, which is common also if one of the babies is head up instead of head down. Tyler was head down, Noah was head up, at 3 am I was getting an epidural, the anesthesiologist was really nice and patient.

 

At 6:30 they were breaking my water, that’s when I went from 4 cm dilated to 9 cm in about 45 minutes. I was crying, cause at 24 years old I wanted my mom but she couldn’t be there because when you give birth in the OR only one person can come with you. at 7:30 we were ready in the OR I pushed three or 4 times and Tyler came out , I was desperately waiting for that cry , and he did as soon as he was on me .For Noah,   they broke his water also and the doctor went to get him by his little legs with  her arm and brought him down , I pushed 2-3 times with him and he came out crying also .What a relief two healthy babies , I breast fed both of them at the same time (yes its possible ) but I needed practice ! after 48 hours we were out, I couldn’t wait to be home in my bed that was now so comfy AMEN .

 

When you tell people your expecting twins most of them say oh-oh double trouble, I would definitely want to rectify that; twins mean double diapers, double cribs, double stroller, double clothes (especially if one is bigger than the other), double car seats, double bibs and the list goes on, most importantly it means double love. A big shout out to parents with twins everyday is a journey, or should a say a double journey spent amongst them.

 

image

 

Tiffany Barba

Author:

Im 25 years old I want to be a writer and an entrepreneur I have 3 beautiful kids , I one day hope to be able to publish a book and have a small farm .

2 thoughts on “Twins

Leave a Reply

